Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel

Fades dark spots and post-acne scars
Overall rating:
4.432 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 296 reviews
5 Stars
189
4 Stars
70
3 Stars
22
2 Stars
6
1 Star
9
277 of 296(94%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Review 1 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!,
PostedMarch 3, 2010
KrissyZ
From:Chicago, IL
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
" I have not been dissatisfied with any of the Murad products that I have used, and this one is definitely not an exception!! I have had acne for most of my life and when the break-outs stopped, I was left with redness and blotches...I have only been using this product for a couple of weeks and the improvement is amazing! I am so pleased with what this has done so far that I can't wait to see what it looks like after 6 weeks and beyond! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
-2points
27of 56voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best in Class!,
PostedMarch 3, 2010
WilliesMom
From:Post Falls, ID
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
" I love this product!! Not only does it diminsh old acne scars and eliminate future scarring, but it heals existing blemishes faster than just using the exfoliating gel. I put this on each evening before bed and I am amazed at how good my skin looks. Some days, I even forget that I have acne!! "
Yes, I recommend this product.
+21points
25of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I have been using this product for over a week now, this is the best dark spot corrector I have ever used.,
PostedDecember 13, 2014
EmmaN
From:Arlington, Texas
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" As a person of Nigerian origination, and with sensitive skin that is prone to breakouts, I have a lot of hyper-pigmentation in the form of dark spots from adolescence. I have tried many products to diminish the dark spots, but I found that my skin is easily irritated by those products and couldn't use them for prolonged periods of time. This lightening gel has not only lightened my spots, but it prevents any future breakouts. It has also gently toned my skin that was unevenly tanned by the summer sun. The step-two night moisturizer helps balance the oil in my skin too. I love this product and I strongly recommend it for brown/black/dark skin. "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, Sensitive Skin, Oily Skin, Sun Damage / Spots, uneven skin tone
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mine turned amber brown after 19 months,
PostedOctober 22, 2014
susanh
From:Beverly Hills, MI, USA
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" I purchased this produce on May 16th of last year. I've been using it about 3 to 4 time a week so the bottle is down to about 1/3 remaining. This morning, when I reached for it, I noticed that the contents turned amber brown. I called the 800 number on the bottle, luckily I found my receipt in my mailbox, and then spoke with the customer svc agent. She said that because there is an active ingredient, it will last for about 3 years. Unfortunately, that was not the case for me and I asked for a replacement. Please keep an eye on your product, check the expiration dates on the bottom of the bottle, and make sure Murad doesn't send you a bottle that is about to expire. I was very disappointed by this experience. "
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from MuradBy MelissawithMuradCustomer CareOctober 22, 2014
I am so sorry for any concern the change in color mayhave caused. The discoloration (turns brown) of the Lightening Gel is a normal reaction of this formula due to exposure to air and/or high temperature. This is result of sensitivity to oxidation of the 2% Hydroquinone Skin Lightener. We package this formula in a glass bottle with tight pump to minimize the probabilities of discoloration. If maintained at room temperature and in the same condition (tight pump) as when shipped the product should maintain it's normal color for the 24 months of shelf life. Early discoloration would lead me to believe that it either had a loose pump or was exposed to abnormal high temperatures. The discoloration is only an aesthetic condition but there is no safety concern.
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing!,
PostedOctober 1, 2014
Tiff151
From:St. Louis, MO, USA
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" This product is amazing! I've been using it for a year now and one bottle lasted me 8 months out of the year before I had to replace it. I have combo skin and it helped keep my breakouts away. My skin also scars when I get a breakout and this insures that it doesn't scar and if it does it's 10 times better than it would normally be. I actually ran out about a month ago and from then until now I can see what a difference not having it is making. I will for sure going to the store this week and be purchasing more!!! Love it and recommend it! "
Skin Concerns:Oily Skin, Sun Damage / Spots
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love Love Love,
PostedSeptember 18, 2014
Nat27
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" I love Murad! I used this product for 3 months.and definitely noticed some results! It made my skin brighter, more even and I still have 3/4 of the bottle left. Can't wait to continue using this product. "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing,
PostedJuly 24, 2014
Mara
From:Louisiana, USA
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" I bought this product a week ago for my acne scars and bumps due to picking with my face and after ONE DAY I saw results. Of course you won't wake up the next day and be completely free, but this product works. After reading all these reviews and seeing how it didn't work for some people with sensitive skin, I began to worry. I have really sensitive skin but it doesn't seem to affect me. I admit that it is a little strong when you put it on, which could be the skin lightener, but I'm very happy with my results, and will continue using Murad products. "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, Sensitive Skin, Oily Skin, Sun Damage / Spots
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolutely amazing!,
PostedJuly 18, 2014
Gina100001
From:Philadelphia, PA, USA
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" This product really works! If you thinking about it just go ahead and buy it, it works wonders. I have been using it for about 5-6 months and my scars are almost all the way gone. Im sure it will take until i finish the bottle for them to be completely erased but so far the difference is definitely noticeable. I had red, superficial scars left from picking and peeling my pimples. Also, this product has definitely helped with the little acne bumps and occasionally nasty pimples i would get. My face is now clear and I feel comfortable to leave this house without face make out (something I would have never even imaged before). This product is a must and honestly it has completely changed the way i feel about myself and i actually enjoy going makeup free! "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, pigmentation
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Made my skin worse,
PostedJune 29, 2014
Asianna
From:NC
Age: Under 19
Gender: Female
" I've been using this product for two weeks now. I do not see any improvements. it made my skin worse, I'm breaking out more and my post acne marks are getting more visible than ever. I'm highly disappointed. I had high hopes for this product and this was not worth my $60. "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, Redness
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Made my skin worse,
PostedJune 16, 2014
daphne57
From:McMinnville, OR, USA
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" I've had bad acne scars for a few years. When I read reviews and heard of this product I got excited and had to get it. The first week my skin started looking better. It's been over a month and any time I use this I break out and my skin looks awful. I was hoping this product would get rid of my embarrassing scars, but it didn't. I also got the clarifying cleanser. It isn't helping anymore either. Both worked well for a few days. I've only heard good things about murad, and it's disappointing for me to not share the good experience with everyone else. I feel like I've wasted $100 on products that haven't helped my skin at all. It is embarrassing to go to work with my skin and have people stare at it al day long. This product sounded great and sounded like it was going to be my faces savior... But it sadly did not end up that way. Maybe not all Murad products work this way, but the ones I've used have not worked. Maybe I'm just trying the wrong ones. :( "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, Dry Skin / Complexion, Redness
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I don't recommend if you have very sensitive skin,
PostedMarch 30, 2014
Cee22
From:New York, NY, USA
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" I used this product for about a week, my tone began to lighten, but I noticed that a rash occurred. I discontinued using it because the rash had spread from my face to my neck and chest. "
Skin Concerns:Sensitive Skin
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miracle!,
PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Teafunny
From:Las Vegas, NV, USA
Age: Under 19
Gender: Female
" Call it miracle because this thing really did work for my scars. I've had acne scars all over my face (especially my cheeks) and not even over a few weeks of using this product they were immensely fading! I could easily tell that a few more weeks of applying this, my scars will be completely vanished. I can hardly contain my excitement! The only thing I should warn you about is that it broke me out. I knew that it was just my face getting used to the product so I just continued to use it. As a couple of weeks passed, they were gone and so were the scars (almost). So dont give it up! "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, Sun Damage / Spots
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It works great,
PostedDecember 16, 2013
STEVEurkel39
From:Baltimore, MD, USA
Age: 36-45
Gender: Male
" I noticed this the best item for my face, ever. I saw great results against my pimples and dark spots in three days. Ugly dark spots under my ears, aside my eyes, forehead, etc. Dark spots since high school, 1985, now fading. I was beginning to believe I need advice from my doctor. Nothing else continues working, fighting dark spots against my shiny, oily skin throughout the day. I can soon be proud to stand aside relatives to take photos again. "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, Sensitive Skin, Oily Skin, Sun Damage / Spots
Yes, I recommend this product.
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fast results...,
PostedOctober 25, 2013
Deew1z
Age: 36-45
Gender: Female
" I heard about this product 5 years ago, it was highly recommended but the price was something that turned me off at the time. Through out the years I've had varying degrees of facial issues that caused many trips to the doctors office and loads of prescriptions and shots but nothing was 100%. This year after a very bad break out on vacation and having to use my sisters Murad supply (funnyt thing I recommended to her LOL) because what I using wasn't cutting it, I decided to get the daily cleansing foam and oil control mattifer moisturizer first in July and now I'm trying the gel which I started to use three days ago The dark spots,acne scars and enflamed ingrown hairs have toned down and lightened within the three days I've used the product, That's faster then the prescriptions my doctors gave me, even the lightening creams which is the highest level of hydroquinone. I'm shocked, happy and surprised, I don't have to wear layers of concealer now. I'm mad at myself for waiting sooo long. It's also great being a Murad member, the discounts help out alot and the product last for over three months. A great savings and fast results "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, Oily Skin, Dry Skin / Complexion, Sun Damage / Spots
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
6of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This is some GOOOD stuff!,
PostedMay 11, 2013
Kayla94
From:Greeneville, TN, USA
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" This is the first time that I have ever written a review on a product. I really like this product, but you do have to kind of be patient, it will not work the first few times. In order for you to see results you need to use it continuously for 2-3 months, but it really does work! I wish I would have took before and after pics! I had shadow like scars on my chin and they are no longer there now! yayy :) love it. "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product I love this!,
PostedMarch 28, 2013
AntCoad
From:Alabama
Age: 19-25
Gender: Male
" Been using this product for over 1 week now. Still 3 weeks to go until i probably notice great amazing results like I did with the AcneComplex system. I took a picture of my face today, and it looked very nice. I think this product is definitely going to leave me satisfied by the end of week 4. I recommend! "
Skin Concerns:Sensitive Skin, Oily Skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
-3points
2of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Product Ever!!!!,
PostedMarch 28, 2013
paytonsmom09
From:tulsa, ok
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" I saw a difference in my skin the second time i used this. I now have no acne scarring anymore. One of my favorite products!!! "
Skin Concerns:Sun Damage / Spots, Normal Skin
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
3of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not My Favorite,
PostedMarch 26, 2013
AwwSNAP4real
From:Rochester, NY
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
" I stand by every product I've ever used from Murad except this one. Unfortunately it made my skin break out AND made my skin super dry.
I've been using it for about 3 weeks now. It lightened my freckles but I can't tell if it's lightened any of my acne scars because my face is so broken out that it looks worse than when I started.
I want to stick with it and finish the bottle so I've been trying to find a balance to stop the breakouts and stop the dryness by using the lotion and gel but so far no luck.
I see this product has worked for many other people so maybe my skin is just too picky.
"
Skin Concerns:Sun Damage / Spots
No, I do not recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Acne has calmed down, but have a lot of hyper pigmentation,
PostedMarch 17, 2013
Astrochacha
From:Cincinnati, OH, USA
Age: 26-35
Gender: Female
" I have been able to get my acne under decent control but have a lot of hyper pigmentation from a previous break out. Though not 100% clear, i have seen a huge improvement in my post acne discoloration. "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Post-Acne Spot Lightening Gel
Overall rating 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good for combo skin,
PostedMarch 12, 2013
Elise87
From:North Dakota, USA
Age: 19-25
Gender: Female
" I am a picker, bad, so of course I tried this product and not only did I notice a significant difference in my picking scars, it softened my skin andi used it a moisturizer in the summer since I have such bad combo skin. I applied after I washed and nothng else and it would moisten without greasing. Love it. "
Skin Concerns:Breakouts, Sensitive Skin, Oily Skin, Dry Skin / Complexion
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 15 next>>